Paper Piecing · Quilting

A Quilt Story

Hi Everyone,

My next quilt project is churning in my head as I try to come up with colors and fabrics.  You may think this is a little crazy but the quilt is speaking to me.  I will be using Denise’s pattern given to me so I could give it a try, and blog about it.

paper-pieced-quilt (1)

The vision for my quilt is telling a story.  I see the border as a storm and the geese swirling and flying to a golden haven in the middle.  I have painted my color page with some color choices.  It doesn’t have the border on it but I hope you can get the idea. I am thinking the stormy border will be a dark gray.  I am hoping the geese color repeat will give an optical illusion of movement.  I hope it doesn’t make it too busy though.

colorpagegeese-1

I did pick up a few fabrics for the geese and the medallion but still need to find the border and contrast fabric.  I think I will go with a light gray for contrast.  The picture doesn’t really show the correct color of the 3rd fabric.   It’s green but hard to tell.

Fabric

I intend to try a couple of the blocks this weekend on some scraps to ensure I understand the pattern before I try on the final fabric.  I’m really getting excited to start.  My two favorite times of quilting is starting and finishing.  The challenge and the accomplishment.

Linking up to:

Show Off Saturday

Peaceful Sunday

Sunday Stash

Main Crush Monday

Monday Making

Linky Tuesday

To-Do Tuesday

Midweek Makers

Let’s Bee Social

UFO Progress

Wednesday Wait Loss

WIPs on Wednesday

Needle and Thread Thursday

Thanks for stopping by.  I enjoy all comments and suggestions.  Please let me know what you think.

Cherie

 

18 thoughts on “A Quilt Story

  1. I too enjoy the beginning of a project, the planning and the fabric choices. This looks like so much fun! Thank you for linking up to Wednesday Wait Loss.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I like your colors. The design is intricate looking, and almost makes my eyes cross in the original colors, but I think yours will be easier to see. I do look forward to seeing the outcome.

    Like

Leave a Reply

